Discrimination   Everton LFC   Bristol LFC   Chelsea LFC   Home

Arsenal LFC

The Arsenal Ladies Football Club has also earned the honor of participating in the FA Women’s Super League. One of the managers of the Arsenal FC, Vic Akers was responsible for creating the women’s team and served as its manager from its inception in 1987 until 2009. The Arsenal Ladies have continued to enjoy a beneficial relationship both the coaching staff and players from Arsenal FC. Though the women’s games are occasionally played elsewhere, Meadow Park is the most frequent location. Finally established as a semi-professional league in 2002, the team continues to impress coaches and spectators alike with their skills.

 It did not take long for the Arsenal LFC to attract attention in the League. Beginning with the Women’s League cup in the 1991/1992 season, the Arsenal LFC has won more Women’s Premier League titles than any other team, a total of twelve. The team received national acclaim for their performance 2006/2007 season during which they went undefeated against teams supposedly much more skilled; this accomplishment earned them an award from the Sports Journalists’ Association. Despite a very impressive performance throughout the year, Arsenal lost the FA Women’s Cup to the Olympique Lyonnais team at the end of the 2007/2008 season. Additionally, the team has the distinction of winning a staggering 51 games in a row during a two and half year period between 2005 and 2008.

The Arsenal LFC was put under new management in 2009 when founder Vik Akers finally retired. Tony Gervaise took over leadership of the team for a mere eight months before passing the job onto current manager, Laura Harvey. It was not long after Harvey took over that the team was inducted into the FA Women’s Super League. Current notable players who represented the 2009/2010 team include: Jayne Ludlow (team captain), Lauren Bruton, and Steph Houghton.